Skip links

The Waterfall Trail

impressive waterfall path of the
Beauty closer to this natural backdrop.

The power of the sand waterfall in the mill village in Gschnitz.

Anyone who is there actively does something for their well-being and health

Spraying fine spray wets the skin, thousands of tiny shiny pearls spray in the colors of the rainbow, the air smells wonderfully fresh as washed. And it is. The sand waterfall in the mill village in Gschnitz turns the surrounding air into an ion bath. And right in the middle of it is the “Newly Built Platform”. A refreshment for body and soul. And that is exactly the secret of the sand waterfall. Specific microclimate with highly concentrated negatively charged air ions and high mountain air – this mixture is said to influence the immune function of the body. “Negative effects of stress are changed positively,” is the immunologist Dr. Arnulf Hartl, lecturer at the Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg, convinced.

They generate feel-good hormones in humans, strengthen the immune system, promote healthy sleep, increase the ability to concentrate and neutralize positive ions. All these effects are said to be negative ions, which are also called “vitamins in the air”. The highest density of negative ions is found in the direct ambient air of waterfalls. This waterfall atmosphere is pleasant and beneficial for people.

The masses of water loosen and expand in free fall, upon impact with water or other subsurface the water is atomized down to the smallest water particles. It experiences relaxation and the biologically effective water surface increases many times over. The water is split, so to speak, into an electrically negative charged hydroxyl ion (OH-) and a positively charged hydrogen atom (H +).

35,000 negative ions and 3,081 positive ions per cubic centimeter were measured at the sand waterfall in the living mill village in Gschnitztal.

The waterfall airflow from the sand waterfall that transports the ions is favored by the surrounding rocks. The newly built platform is located directly above the river.

These unique conditions make it possible to measure very high waterfall ion concentrations. The sand waterfall is characterized by very high concentrations of nano aerosols. During the measurements, 5,537 particles / cm³ with a diameter of 41.7 Measured in nanomillimeters. Due to these extraordinary values, the nanoaerosols are extremely small and therefore particularly respirable.

In summary, Univ. Lecturer Dr. Arnulf Josef Hartl prove that this exposure site and the circular route around the sand waterfall enable optimal medical and health tourism use with a focus on the heart-lung system.

Links überspringen

Der Wasserfall

eindrucksvollen Wasserfallweg der
Schönheit dieser Naturkulisse immer näher.

Die Kraft des Sandeswasserfalls im Mühlendorf in Gschnitz
Wer sich dort aufhält, tut aktiv etwas für sein Wohlbefinden und seine Gesundheit

Sprühend feine Gischt netzt die Haut, abertausend winzige glänzende Perlen zerstäuben in den Farben des Regenbogens, die Luft riecht herrlich frisch wie gewaschen. Und das ist sie auch. Der Sandeswasserfall im Mühlendorf in Gschnitz macht aus der ihn umgebenden Luft ein Ionenbad. Und mitten drin die “Neu erbaute Plattform”. Eine Erfrischung für Leib und Seele. Und genau das ist das Geheimnis des Sandeswasserfalls. Spezifisches Mikroklima mit hoch konzentrierten negativ geladenen Luftionen und Hochgebirgsluft  – diese Mischung soll die Immunfunktion des Körpers beeinflussen. “Negative Auswirkungen von Stress werden positiv verändert”, ist der auf Klimatherapie spezialisierte Immunologe Dr. Arnulf Hartl, Dozent an der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg, überzeugt.

Sie erzeugen im Menschen Wohlfühlhormone, stärken das Immunsystem, fördern gesunden den Schlaf, erhöhen die Konzentrationsfähigkeit und neutralisieren positive Ionen. All diese Wirkungen werden den negativen Ionen nachgesagt, die auch „Vitamine der Luft“ genannt werden. Die höchste Dichte an negativen Ionen ist in der direkten Umgebungsluft von Wasserfällen zu verzeichnen. Diese Wasserfallatmosphäre ist von angenehmer und wohltuender Wirkung für den Menschen.

Die Wassermassen lockern und dehnen sich im freien Fall, beim Aufprall auf Wasser oder anderem Untergrund wird das Wasser bis hin zu kleinsten Wasserteilchen zerstäubt. Es erfährt dabei eine Entspannung und die biologisch wirksame Wasseroberfläche vergrößert sich um ein Vielfaches. Das Wasser wird quasi gespalten und zwar in ein elektrisch negative geladenes Hydroxyl-Ion (OH-) und ein positiv geladenes Wasserstoffatom (H+).

Beim Sandeswasserfall im Lebenden Mühlendorf im Gschnitztal wurden 35.000 negative Ionen und 3.081 positive Ionen pro Kubikzentimeter gemessen.

Der Wasserfallluftstrom des Sandeswasserfalls, der die Ionen transportiert, ist durch die umgebenden Felsen begünstigt. Die neu gebaute Plattform befindet sich direkt über dem Flusslauf.

Durch diese einzigartigen Bedingungen lassen sich sehr hohe Wasserfallionenkonzentrationen messen. Der Sandeswasserfall zeichnet sich durch sehr hohe Konzentrationen von Nanoaerosolen aus. Bei den Messungen wurden 5.537 Partikel/cm³ mit einem Durchmesser von 41,7
Nanomillimeter gemessen. Durch diese außergewöhnlichen Werte sind die Nanoaerosole extrem klein und dadurch besonders lungengängig.

Zusammenfassend konnte Univ. Doz. Dr. Arnulf Josef Hartl beweisen das dieser Expositionsort und der Rundweg um den Sandeswasserfall eine optimale medizinische und gesundheitstouristische Nutzung ermöglicht mit dem Fokus auf das Herz-Lungen-System.